Energy awards recognise high standards and innovation

Africa Energy Awards has become a highlight of the annual Power and Electricity World Africa conference and exhibition. Gareth Gregory, the event’s Master of Ceremonies, said that if ambition is the destination, tenacity is the path. Since 2007, these awards have recognised and rewarded industry innovation and outstanding performance, while honouring the top energy projects in Africa.

Carmen Williams, Trecento

Dale Holoway and Kennedy Lamwenya

Cletus Baalongbuoro, Clean Coal Power, Ghana

The judges look for socioeconomic benefits, personal participation and involvement in the project or concept, a unique approach or application of a scientific solution to a real-life challenges.

Dr. Kamalluddien Parker, ZRW Mechanika

Mahama Kappiah, ECOWAS

This year’s winners, in five categories, did not disappoint.

  • Carmen Williams of Trecento won the Women in Power prize.
  • The prize in the Small and Medium Energy Company of the Year category went to Cletus Baalongbuoro of Clean Coal Power, Ghana.
  • The award for African Energy Leader of the Year was awarded to Mahama Kappiah of the ECOWAS centre for renewable energy and energy efficiency, Cape Verde.
  • The African Energy Innovation prize was awarded jointly to Dale Holoway of Pretoria Boys High School for his water-cooled PV panel concept; and Kennedy Lamwenya of Angaza Boma, Kenya for his solar-powered TV project.
  • The Premier Energy Project of the year award was presented to Dr. Kamalluddien Parker of ZRW Mechanika for his Coega schools project.

Send your comment to

The post Energy awards recognise high standards and innovation appeared first on EE Publishers.

Source: EE plublishers

More news