Engineering excellence awards winners announced


Consulting Engineers South Africa (CESA) supported by Aon South Africa hosted the who’s who in the engineering industry at a gala dinner held at Vodaworld in Midrand recently to celebrate the 2017 CESA Aon Engineering Excellence Awards. The awards recognise outstanding achievements in the engineering industry celebrating innovation, quality, outstanding workmanship and professionalism.

Lynne Pretorius, the president of CESA, said that consulting engineers are at the forefront of infrastructure development and these awards bear witness to the pivotal role that consulting engineers, as trusted advisors and partners to CESA clients, play in the delivery of services to the people of South Africa and the African continent.

The winning projects show that South Africa still has much to deliver and offer and that the potential of the country will continue to require consulting engineering expertise.



Awards were made in the following categories: Young Engineer of the Year; Engineering Excellence for projects with a value of less than R50-million; projects between R50-million and R250-million and for projects with a value of over R250-million; Best International Project; Visionary Client of the Year; Mentor of the Year; Business Excellence; Mentoring Company of the Year; Publisher of the Year; Job Shadow Initiative; and Branch of the Year.

The Young Engineer of the Year winner is afforded an opportunity to attend the International Federation of Consulting Engineers (FIDIC) Infrastructure Conference. Airports Company South Africa (ACSA) sponsored the Young Engineer of the Year Award, which was awarded to Jabulile Msiza from Jones & Wagener. Catherine Blerch from Aurecon and Pieter Crous from SMEC both received commendations in the category.

The category for Engineering Excellence with a value greater than R250-million was awarded to Aurecon for the Mall of Africa for Atterbury Property. Aecom was awarded a commendation for the Acid Mine Drainage project for TCTA. Another commendation was awarded to Royal HaskoningDHV for Provincial Main Road 577 for the KwaZulu Natal Department of Transport.

Neil Lyners and Associates’ L’ormarins Hydro Power Project won the category for Engineering Excellence with a value between R50-million and R250-million. Commendations were awarded to Aurecon for the Stortemelk Hydropower Plant for Stortemelk Hydro (RF) Property Limited and Bosch Projects for Special Maintenance of N2 Section 11 for SANRAL.

The category for Engineering Excellence with a value less than R50-million, was won by Fellow Consulting for Malapa Fossils for Wits University. Bigen Africa received a commendation for the Water Reclamation Plant at the BRP Mine for Royal Bafokeng Platinum and Aecom also received a commendation for the Plankenburg Main Outfall for Stellenbosch Municipality.

In the category of Best International Project, sponsored by the Built Environment Professionals Export Council (BEPEC), a commendation was awarded to Aurecon for the Mzingani Sea wall in Zanzibar.

Nyeleti Consulting won the Business Excellence category with Knight Piésold receiving a commendation. Bigen Africa won the Mentoring Company of the Year, sponsored by Bosch Holdings. In an effort to promote mentorship of young engineers CESA recognises the contribution mentors make to the industry and the future of the profession. Cornelius van der Wath from Matleng Energy Solutions is the Mentor of the Year. Tongaat Hulett was awarded Visionary Client of the Year.

Finally, UWP Consulting was announced as the winner of the CESA Job Shadow Initiative with Infraconsult as the 1st runner’s up and Bigen Africa as 2nd runner’s respectively. CESA’s Eastern Cape’s Port Elizabeth Branch was named winner of the Branch of the Year Award.

Contact Dennis Ndaba, CESA Strategic Communicator, Tel 011 463-2022,


The post Engineering excellence awards winners announced appeared first on EE Publishers.

Source: EE plublishers

More news