Eskom reveals which countries will bid for nuclear deal


Eskom’s Koeberg nuclear power station.

Fin24 reports that Eskom says 27 companies have indicated their intention to provide a response to the power utility’s Request for Information (RFI) for the proposed 9,6 GW nuclear new build programme. This includes four major nuclear vendors from China (SNPTC), France (EDF), Russia (Rosatom) and South Korea (Kepco).

Rosatom and EDF issued statements this month indicating that they had met the first deadline (31 January) in the nuclear process, which was simply to state whether they would respond to the RFI. The actual deadline for the response to the RFI is 28 April 2017.

Eskom started the procurement process on 20 December 2016 when it launched the RFI process. Two requests for proposals (RFPs) are still due to be released this year. However, the power utility requires Treasury sign-off before this can be released, as it relates to the financial aspects of the bid.

The intention to submit a response to Eskom’s RFI does not commit a company to submit a response to a potential future RFP, the utility says. The RFI will show the level of competitive interest in the South African nuclear new build programme. Matshela Koko, Eskom’s acting CEO, says the utility is looking forward to the information the various companies will provide as this will confirm its understanding of the key issues that impact the timing and affordability of a nuclear programme.

EDF said in a statement on 25 January that the French utility – with support from French authorities – has formally declared its intention to submit a response to that RFI.

The article was first published by Fin24 and is republished here with permission.

Send your comments to



The post Eskom reveals which countries will bid for nuclear deal appeared first on EE Publishers.

Source: EE plublishers

More news